April 19: Ass Transit

I caught a ride downtown with friends, which meant
I made my big appointment in good time.
But when I left part way through the event,
I found my transit options were subprime.

The nearby bus signs showed a transfer point
With my connection just a mile away.
When I arrived, my nose got out of joint
To find it didn’t run on Saturday.

Another half-mile to the trolley line,
To ride to yet another transport center
Of which some riders were heard to opine
That one who works no weekends was inventor.

For me, it was annoyance, nothing more–
I feel for those for whom it’s frequent chore.

Leave a Reply

