April 5: Point of Phew

SDO Thumbnail
Of my opinions I am somewhat proud,
Especially those I’ve researched thoroughly,
So when I’m faced with one that’s merely loud
I’m tempted to engage in repartee,

And yet, a yelling person doesn’t care
What anybody else around him thinks.
As everyone is probably aware,
Opinions are like assholes, and some stink.

But even if inclined to sympathy
For what has made the yeller so aggrieved
I find it hard to muster empathy
When I just want him to shut up and leave.

At least some who agreed with me were warring-
No-one should ever say that opera’s boring.

Inspiration:
The Inside Story of San Diego Opera’s Demise, Ian Campbell Heckled at Opening Night of “Don Quixote.”

Leave a Reply

